Russia bans 963 Americans, including Biden, Harris, Morgan Freeman, but not Trump

Placeholder when article work is loaded

Russia is permanently barring about 1,000 Americans, including President Biden and Vice President Harris, from entering the country in response to US support for Ukraine and a nearly three-month-old embargo on Moscow.

On Saturday, the Russian Foreign Ministry released a list of 963 Americans barred from entering Russia – a major symbolic move by members of the Biden administration, Republicans, technical executives, journalists, lawmakers who have died, regular U.S. citizens and even actor Morgan Freeman.

“In response to the United States’ continued anti-Russian sanctions and requests for the personal structure of our national ‘stop list’, the Russian Foreign Ministry has released a list of permanently banned American citizens from entering the Russian Federation.” Said in a press release.

Saturday’s list includes Biden, Secretary of State Anthony Blinken, and Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin, all of whom were approved in March and barred from entering Russia.

The list includes key officials in the Biden administration, including Harris, Transportation Secretary Pete Butigig and former White House Press Secretary Jane Sackie. The president’s son, Hunter Biden, is also named, as is former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton.

The White House did not immediately respond to a request for comment early Saturday.

Missing a prominent name from the list: Former President Donald Trump. In fact, the only prominent Trump administration official included in the sanctions is former Secretary of State Mike Pompeo.

The list of 963 Americans in the Russian Foreign Ministry includes many members of Congress, including House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), Senate Majority Leader Charles E. Schumer (DN.Y.) and House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.)

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (RK) is not on the list. Sen was also not listed. Rand Paul (R-Kai), who delayed a Senate vote last week for aid to Ukraine, was the only senator to object. The Senate passed the measure this week, and Biden signed a new ও 40 billion package of military and humanitarian aid for Ukraine during a visit to Seoul on Saturday.

The new aid package indicates that the United States and its allies are preparing for a protracted conflict in the country. The package includes an additional 20 billion in military aid that will finance the transfer of advanced weapons systems. The President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky thanked Biden added that defense assistance was “needed more than ever.”

The list of banned Americans comes at a time when Russia is continuing heavy shelling in the Ukrainian-controlled eastern city of Severodonetsk, which appears to be the main battlefield after the war. Fighting is raging on the outskirts of the city and “the Russians are destroying Severodonetsk like Mariupol,” Luhansk Governor Serhi Haidai said early Saturday. He said six civilians had been killed in Russian bombings in and around the city on Friday.

After the United States and other countries imposed historic sanctions on Russia over the invasion, Americans remained steadfast in their support for Ukraine, with a large, bipartisan majority in favor of increased sanctions against Russia and a majority. Military and humanitarian aid for Ukrainians, according to a Washington Post-ABC News poll earlier this month. In all, 73 percent said the United States was either doing the right thing or doing too little to support Ukraine.

Majority of Americans impose sanctions on Russia, aid to Ukraine, survey shows

Russia announced its sanctions against the United States in March, removing Biden and other administrative officials from the country.

On Saturday, House Democrats, including House Republicans such as Marjorie Taylor Green (Ga.), Matt Gaetz (Fla.) And Paul A. Gosar (Ariz.), As well as Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY), Ilhan Omar (Min.). ) And Aina Presley (Mass.), Consider themselves banned from Russia. Senate, Republican Lindsay and. Graham (SC), Ted Cruz (Tex.) And Marco Rubio (Fla.) Are on the list, as is Democratic Sense. Amy Cloboucher (Min.), Mark R. Warner (v.) And Diane Feinstein (California).

Former Russian Senator John McCain (R-Ariz) Harry M. Reed (D-Nev.) And Orin G. Hatch (R-Utah) have been named among current or former lawmakers, although they have all been barred from entering the country. McCain died in 2018 at the age of 81. Reid died in December at the age of 82, and Hatch died last month at the age of 88.

According to a review by The Washington Post, the collection of banned people from Russia includes people from all walks of life. Eight of Russia’s “blacklisted” individuals have been identified as “US citizens” only. Those banned include Rabis, an LGBTQ worker, an Ivorian attorney, a defense contractors’ executive and a professor of history at Yale University.

Russia has focused on the US technology industry by naming Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg and Microsoft President Brad Smith. Among the American journalists banned by Russia are George Stefanopoulos of ABC News, Susan Glaser of the New Yorker, Brett Stephens of the New York Times and Biana Goldriga of CNN. According to the list, no Fox News journalist or host was banned by Russia on Saturday.

One of the most amazing entries on the list was Freeman, 84, an Academy Award-winning actor. The Russian Foreign Ministry noted in its entry that Freeman had created a “stop list” because in 2017 he “recorded a video message urging Russia to conspire against the United States and fight against our country.” Freeman spoke out against Russia in a video of a group seeking to raise awareness about Russian interference in the 2016 US presidential election.

“We have been attacked,” Freeman said at the time. “We are at war.”

Russia claimed on Saturday that the list was released in response to “hostile actions taken by Washington” during the Ukraine invasion.

“Russia does not want conflict and is open to honest, mutually respectful dialogue, separating the American people, who are always respected by us, from the US authorities, who incite Rusophobia and who serve them.” “These are the people who are on the Russian blacklist. “

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.